The Philippines wins three travel awards

The Philippines has been recognised in the 27th World Travel Awards as the leading beach and dive destination in Asia in 2020, in two separate awards.
The Philippine Department of Tourism has also been declared as this year’s leading tourist board in Asia by the award-giving body, winning the award over 11 nominated countries.

Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat expressed her thanks for these highly-coveted awards as she remarked, “We are truly honoured and thankful for the accolades given to the Philippines at the 2020 World Travel Awards Asia. These recognitions are certainly an inspiration to the industry as we safely and gradually reopen our destinations for tourism. These would not be possible without the combined efforts from our tourism stakeholders, local government units, partner agencies, and our fellow Filipinos who have tirelessly promoted our country’s attractions, products and culture.”

This is the fourth time that the country has won the Leading Beach Destination in Asia award and the second time it received the gong as Asia’s Leading Dive Destination. Meanwhile, the Department of Tourism gained the honours for the second time as Asia’s leading Tourist Board.
The Department of Tourism has recently announced its support for the gradual reopening of several tourist destinations in the Philippines, among which are Baguio, Boracay, El Nido, Ilocos Norte, and diving sites in Batangas province. The department has put safety measures in place in accordance with health and safety guidelines and regulations.
The Philippines and the DOT have also been nominated in the following World category:

  • World’s Leading Beach Destination 2020: Philippines
  • World’s Leading Dive Destination 2020: Philippines
  • World’s Leading Island Destination 2020: Siargao
  • World’s Leading Tourist Board 2020: the Philippines, Department of Tourism
  • World’s Leading Tourist Attraction 2020: Intramuros

The World Travel Awards has played a key role in raising global tourism standards by recognising brands and best practices in the travel, tourism, and hospitality industries since 1993.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *